Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

May I introduce myself, I am a 36 year old Brit and along with my wife of 37 yrs we are hoping to make he move to the UAE in the next couple of years. Obviously it's a big hop to make and I'm gathering as much info as I can In order to ensure we are well equipped to make the move. We have 3 children, 7, 4 and 1.

I am an IT technical engineer of 10 years experience with the last 2 being more of a network engineer (Cisco certified). My wife is a newly qualified primary school teacher.

So I suppose my first post to forum is to get the general consensus on our professions in the UAE - is there a big requirement for IT Network engineers and Primary teachers? Will those roles pay enough In the UAE to support a home and our childrens education?

Any advice or recommend links/ reading will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
40 Posts
Hi, lots of primary jobs advertised in the TES but you need 2 years post qualification experience to teach in UAE the good schools offer free places but usually only for 2 children, others offer a discount on the fees. I don't know about IT jobs but I would like info on that too as I am a teacher and have a job starting in August and my hubby is in IT and so far can't find anything. Good luck with whatever you decide :)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi mrsm, thanks for the info. My wife has a friend who's a teacher in Abu Dhabi and she had mentioned the 2 years experience. Looks like that's a pre-reqreusite. This isn't too much of an issue as we expect it will be 2 years till we're ready. Do you know what the average salary would be for a primary teacher with 2 yrs exp? Once again thanks for the info and I'll let you know what I find out about IT. :)

·
Registered
2,810 Posts