Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I have spent a lot of time reading this great forum and have found it very helpful. I'm hoping maybe to get some advice about my specific situation as I'm unclear on how to proceed...

I have been a self-employed website developer for the last 6 years with steady, reliable income. Right now, I have two regular clients who pay me monthly and a handful of other clients who come and go. All of my clients are Canadian (I am too) and I have no intention of ever looking for clients in France while I am there. I will be working for my existing clients only.

I have read elsewhere that the common thing to do in my situation is to apply for just a regular long-term visitor visa and show the proof of my income and savings.

But I also see on the Vancouver consulate's website that there is a visa category for "Independent Workers" and I wonder if I should pursue that instead.

If anyone can advise me, I'd appreciate it very much.

As well, if anyone could recommend an English-speaking immigration lawyer in France who might be a good person to talk to, that would be wonderful as well.

·
Administrator
49,767 Posts
One of the "tricks" of applying for a visa for France is that you are generally asked for your "reason" for wanting to come to France. If you're saying that you want to go to France as an "independent worker" but that you have no intention of ever looking for clients in France while you're there, the question arises why you want to come to France in the first place.