Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been searching all over the internet for what seems like an eternity, but can find little information relevant to my situation. It's been my dream to live in Europe since I spent a few months in London, Paris, and Geneva several summers ago. Specifically, I would love to live in Switzerland, but from what I've read this seems nigh impossible (please correct me if you have better information!) so I would more than settle for France.

That said, I'm a freelance graphic designer here in the US of A. That means I design everything from logos to websites to T-shirts. I'm sorry to say I don't have a whole lot of experience yet, but I have a BA degree in graphic design from the Art Institute of Seattle and what I've been told is a fairly exceptional portfolio (although it's not online yet.)

So, first off, can anyone here clear up the visa process for me a little bit? What sort of visa do I need, how do I apply for it, how do I get French citizenship (or at least legal long-term residency) ... et cetera, et cetera, ad nauseam. Also, please enlighten me about how self-employment works in France, specifically about any special permits I might need or anything like that.

To those who've completed the move, what order do you do things in? It seems like I would have to go to the consulate and apply for my visas and such first, then start looking for an apartment in Paris, and begin shipping stuff across the pond when everything is approved, but I've never done this before!

Oh, and one last question, although I know it seems like I've already asked a billion. If I moved to France and became a citizen, then could I theoretically move again to Switzerland as an EU citizen? Not saying that this is what I'm planning, but I'm interested in whether or not that would be possible.

Thanks in advance!

·