Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! :) <3

I'm 26 years old female from Finland and I'm most likely going to move to Dubai in August. I'm a teacher and If I move, I'll be home teaching two finnish kids at their home. At the same time Im very extied and scared!

What is Dubai like for western women? For example, Would it be safe for me to walk alone? I'd be getting my own car, so that is probably making things a bit easier? How about meeting new people? My first priority would definitely be my job, but I would really hope to spend my free time with other young(ish) people. So how. Where? When?

My head is full of questions, so sorry for scrappy text. Also, english is not my first language, so I hope Im understood here and that I'd be understood in Dubai :)

·
Registered
3,723 Posts
It's generally safe enough for women, even to walk around alone. Some will tell you it's the safest place in the world, but that's certainly not true. Just be sensible and you'll be fine, so no accepting lifts home in a man you don't know's car, going to parties with men you don't know, etc.

And some of that applies to men you do know, in this part of the world, they generally don't know how to behave around European women, and while you think you're showing them 100% platonic friendship, they think you're asking to get laid (especially if you have blonde hair).

If you're missing stuff from back home, they have some Finnish biscuits/cakes here although it's mostly Swedish: https://www.facebook.com/NordicCrownBakery

There's plenty of online meet-up groups that I'm not allowed to post on here as the moderators will say I am advertising rival websites, but easy enough to find on Google I think. Just make sure you're meeting up with a large group of people.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Gavtek!