Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to this forum. I am currently living in India and planning to move to Singapore for better career opportunities. I have a total of 10 years experience in Information technology field mainly in the Investment banking/Finance domain. I am looking for a suitable position in Singapore. Please let me know if this is the right time for me to look for a job in Singapore. Also please let me know what would be a good salary for me in Singapore, considering my work experience.

Thank You,
Peednas

·
Registered
356 Posts
What is your level in IT in financial institution? Is it networks, infra, mgmt, sr mgmt, program/project mgmt, business IT or applications deve etc?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello, I am currently a project lead for an application development team.

Thank You,
peednas

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I do not have any project management certifications. I have been working with Fidelity Investments for last 6.5 years. During this time, i have worked multiple areas like capital markets etc.

·
Registered
356 Posts
I do not have any project management certifications. I have been working with Fidelity Investments for last 6.5 years. During this time, i have worked multiple areas like capital markets etc.
It depends on individual but generally, job descriptions require certain certifications -standards universally accepted especially for higher positions. Without these certifications, the hiring managers have to depend on background checks to verify your experience with a foreign employer in your home country.
Will they do it?

1. With a few thousands of local/foreign applicants vying for the same position, unless you have exceptional qualifications in the specific field (similar) they might not be willing to proceed with your application.