Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am new to Dubai as well as to this group.

I would like to know the procedures I must go through for a road trip from Dubai to India. For sure I need an International Driving License. Apart from that, what else required?

And most importantly, anyone else? interested?

;)

·
Registered
2,190 Posts
It looks like the shortest route to reach the Indian border with Pakistan near Lahore is around 5000km which would mean driving through Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Iraq, Iran and Pakistan. So you'll need Visas and insurance for all of those countries as well as a pretty decent car as it's unlikely to be good roads all the way. I'm a fan of long road trips but I think you'd have to pay me a shed load of money to drive across Pakistan with an Indian passport in a foreign registered car.
+1 vote for flying!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yea.... thank u felix 1st of all.....

yea getting a visa is gonna b a big problem in Pakistan, but then i'm not particular about the shortest route...... i would like to take an even longer route without touching Pakistan... recently a 4-member team reached India by road from Saudi Arabia....they covered 15,000 km across Dubai, Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Nepal, and Tibet and it took the 45 days... and thats a decent duration

·
Registered
2,190 Posts
15000km in 45 days is fairly serious motoring and not much sight seeing. It's about 320 km each day which isn't much if it's motorway but on one track roads through the "stans" and SW China its hard miles.
Why not do a road trip somewhere a bit more user friendly and safer?

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
Dunno why you'd need to go via bahrain Felix?

Some mates of mine are in Jordan at the moment (overland through Saudi) and last year went to Iran. All nationalities so it can be done.

·
Registered
72 Posts