Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi anybody

Sorry I am new to all this so need some help

I want to retire to Thailand and have read all the reqs needed on line but i am told be I need to have my bank statement certified by a solicitor and need a reference letter from my bank is this the case please help and with any other info you have

Cheers
Thebarron :confused2:

G

·
0 Posts
Hi there, welcome to ExpatForum :)

May I ask if you are 50 or over? That is the minimum age (currently) at which you can obtain a retirement visa.

As for the requirements, you need a permanent address of some kind in Thailand to apply for this visa, as well as either 800,000 baht in a Thai bank account, or a minimum monthly pension (can't remember the figure offhand) which you can provide evidence of, or some combination of both if they each fall short of the minimum requirements.

I don't know whether certified evidence of bank balances in the UK are of any use - the Thais want to see evidence of the capital mentioned above in a Thai bank account in Thailand, not in the UK. Unless you have a substantial state/private pension income, which nullifies the need for the capital.

The 800,000B doesn't have to stay in your account all year round btw. It just has to be there for three months prior to the first visa application, and prior to each subsequent renewal.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi

Yes I am 58 and have house in Thailand can i open a bank account if i am not perm i Thailand I will be coming back in 3 weeks time I come back every 3 months for a month and what is the best way to get a visa is it by say a company who does this for a livingand let them sort it as a friend of mine is having problems with all the paperwork

Thebarron

·
Registered
469 Posts