Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings fellow expats, and a very good to you all!

I couldn't find an answer in the sticky threads and search didn't turn up anything relevant either, so any help is appreciated.

I've been a student in Egypt for the past 4 years and just graduated a couple of months ago. However, I still have some work here that I need to take care of before packing my bags for good. Unfortunately, my residence visa expired on the 30th of October and I've not been able to get it renewed through my university since I've graduated and all... While I am exploring other options, I would really like to know what the consequences for overstaying are.

I'm aware of the LE 150-200 fine and am perfectly fine with that. What I want to know is whether I may be blacklisted for future entry or whether they will stamp an 'OVERSTAYED' seal in my passport. I plan to stay for another 2 months, until mid January let's say.

I'm too afraid to approach the officers at Mogamma or elsewhere, so any information is highly appreciated. Even anecdotal information should help ease my concerns.

Thank you for your time!

·
Super Moderator
1,778 Posts

I couldn't find an answer in the sticky threads and search didn't turn up anything relevant either, so any help is appreciated.

I've been a student in Egypt for the past 4 years and just graduated a couple of months ago. However, I still have some work here that I need to take care of before packing my bags for good. Unfortunately, my residence visa expired on the 30th of October and I've not been able to get it renewed through my university since I've graduated and all... While I am exploring other options, I would really like to know what the consequences for overstaying are.