Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear everyone, I have a question, hopefully you can help me answer it!

I've lived in the Netherlands for about 13 years, ever since I graduated high school. Last year I found out about my filing obligations, so I sent in the 1040 and 2555-EZ forms for 2013. This year (for 2014) I did the same thing, claiming the automatic 2 month extension to file, since that applies to my situation. I sent them using the Dutch postal service and asked for a tracking number receipt so I could make sure that the forms got there. Unfortunately, due to some changes with how the postal service tracks mailings, it's unclear if my forms were actually delivered to the IRS - no one at the postal service is able to tell me that. Apparently, nowadays they are only able to track post up to a certain point. So my forms my have been develivered or they may have been lost in transit. There's no way of telling. So now I'm not sure what to do: Should I send the forms in again or just hope that they got there? If I send the forms via express post with the same service but without a tracking number, they'll make it before June 15th. But then it might look weird that I sent them twice, that is, if they did in fact get there.

It might be worth mentioning that I don't owe the IRS a payment and the physical presence test applies to me, haven't been back to the US in years, and I don't earn that much either - just graduated college like two years ago. My situation is a relatively simple one, no big bank accounts or the like.

Advice is greatly appreciated!

·
Administrator
49,764 Posts