Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm trying to figure out how to move to Spain. I'm an American in their late 20s.

After reading about the immigration policies/laws in Spain, it sounds like my options are either a student visa, work visa or marrying someone there.

Since I don't have a Spanish girlfriend or boyfriend currently, it looks like my options are a student or work visa.

I have a combined degree in Electrical Engineering and Physics. I like doing research in these areas, but working "a real job" in these areas is like living in the comic Dilbert. At least it is in the USA. I don't know about Spain.

It looks like some people are able to get work as an English teacher. I'm confused about the qualifications: TEFL, DELTA, CELTA etc? Which one should I get - if I want to do that?

Is it possible to move to Spain to learn one of these certifications under a student visa, then teach it?

I have about enough money saved up to live a year without work, but it sounds like the Spanish government wants you to have a job or be accepted to school before they let you stay.

What'd you do?

:juggle:

·
Registered
14 Posts
I know there is the possibility of a non lucrative visa, but you have to prove to the Spanish government that you can maintain yourself without working.

I cannot post links yet, but google "embassy of Spain Washington residence visa" the first 5 or 6 results will help you a lot.

Best regards!

·
Registered
19,369 Posts
I think you need to get in touch with the authorities to find out exactly what is needed for each visa. For an American to work here they have to be sponsored by a company. The company has to prove that there is no European that can do that job so there is very little chance of you being an English teacher and finding employment that way.

It is unfortunately very difficult for Americans to live here legally

·
Registered
63 Posts
Hi there,