Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I have literally just arrived in Cape Town with my South African fiancé, and, having read some of the previous posts here, I am seriously confused so I’m hoping that someone might be able to help me out with a number of questions. Apologies in advance about the length and detail of this post.

I got my permit from the SA embassy in Dublin before I left Ireland. When applying for it they sent me a Requirements document for a ‘Relative and Life Partner’ permit (see attached file) and I was advised by the girl in the embassy that this would simply need to be endorsed once I find a job.

I am now trying to get my head around what I need to do next in order to find gainful employment as soon as possible!

So, I have a number of questions that have arisen after reading some of the previous posts on here…

1. Is a ‘relative’ permit and a ‘life partner’ permit one and the same thing?
    The ‘requirements’ document which was sent to me by the embassy called it a ‘Relative and Life Partner Permit’. However I have seen previous posts which seem to state that they’re different. My permit states ‘Relative’ and then in the Conditions it states that I am ‘to be admitted on a relatives permit to accompany her partner’.
    Which do I have? Is this an issue?

2. Further to the above, if there is a difference between ‘Relative’ and ‘Life Partner’, and if the one I have is a ‘Relative’, can this be endorsed for work?
    Again, the requirements doc. for a ‘relative and life partner permit’ sent to me by the embassy stated ‘This permit can be endorsed so the holder can work in South Africa, provided they have already been offered a position. Include a signed copy of the contract and offer letter (if applicable).’