Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks I have an inquiry.
We purchased a mobil home in France for summer vacations. I hold a French card d'identite and passport and am a US citizen as well. We have a residence and bank in France and want to purchase a car to use when we are there in the summer. Anyone know if it's possible to buy and insure a car in France with a US DL?

Thanks
Dan

·
Registered
325 Posts
Whilst I am no expert on this provided you have a residential address and the right to stay in France I can't see a problem....

·
Administrator
50,464 Posts
Like the Grocer, I am no expert either, but if you have any other form of insurance (on your home, civic responsibility or whatever else), I would talk to the company or agency you have that insurance. Or, try your bank in France. You have have to jump a couple more hoops, or pay a bit more, but it should be do-able.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
143 Posts
I just bought a car and the insurance agency told me I needed an international driver's license. I don't have one (yet) but my husband was still in the states and he ran over to AAA, got his (30 minutes), emailed it me, and I forwarded it to my agency. A slight hassle, but compared to most things I've been dealing with on setting up a vacation home here, pretty easy.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi Diane,
That's good news so far. Thank you for the response!
Have you registered the car with the prefect yet? I guess I am mostly concerned about the ability to register a car with the prefect without a French drivers license.
Interesting to find others doing the same as us with a vacation place in France.
Regards,
Dan

·
Registered
580 Posts