Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

So I've just gotten a job offer from a company in Hamburg. I'm quite excited about the possibility of moving to Germany, but I am concerned about pay. Being American, obviously the taxes seem rather high, but I know that I will also get a lot for it.

More what I am worried about is the buying power of my gross salary. For living in Hamburg, which I understand is rather expensive, is 45,000 Euros a good salary? I work in the tech industry and I am worried I am getting low-balled. I'm worried especially since the cost of living sites I have found say that 800 Euros is typical for an apartment, but after taxes and everything, I worry my wife and I will be scraping by.

Also, my wife works from home in the U.S, so does anyone know how all of that works out? We expected to keep her pay in the U.S. and pay taxes in the U.S., and then I pay taxes on my salary in Europe.

Basically, anything that people could tell me about the cost of living in Hamburg specifically would be really helpful. 45K doesn't seem like a lot to me, but then again, I get the impression it goes a lot further too.

Thanks,

Jonathan

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi,

More what I am worried about is the buying power of my gross salary. For living in Hamburg, which I understand is rather expensive, is 45,000 Euros a good salary?
You won't starve! It seems to be the average salary in the first years after a bachelor degree. You can take a look at “150 Berufe im grossen Gehaltsranking - Berufsleben - FOCUS” under Focus.de (google for it please). Weird but true, women earn in average 22% less than men for the same work!

I'm worried especially since the cost of living sites I have found say that 800 Euros is typical for an apartment, but after taxes and everything, I worry my wife and I will be scraping by.