Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My husband is a carpenter and I am an event manager. We have been looking at various options on moving to Canada and after much research we have decided we want to live in Vancouver and apply for pr. We initially wanted to get a twp but it seemed to be really difficult to get a job in this country, without being in Canada. We are currently saving for our proof of funds so cannot apply just yet, but I have been doing lots of research on living in Vancouver which has raised quite a few questions. Any help would be much appreciated!!!

1) we would like to live in Vancouver despite the cost of renting as we think there would be more opportunities for me to get work. I have read however that carpentry jobs aren't as plentiful in Vancouver, is this correct?

2) I have heard the healthcare system is pretty bad in terms of waiting times. I know the nhs also has wait times - I just wondered if the Canadian health system is worse than the nhs?

3) we are moving because we are really excited about being able to go to the mountains on a weekend either skiing/mountain biking and hope our standard of living will be better as we love the outdoors. I have read conflicting information on the amount of time people are expected to work. Some have said you have to work 6 days a week and between 60-80 hours a week. I know this depends on the province so wondered what the standard working hours are for b.c. In the uk my husband and I both get Saturday's and Sunday's off together and I wouldn't want that to shrink to just one day..