Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bit of a tricky question...

The situation: me and my fiancé live in Dublin. She's on a work visa, I'm British. My fiancé is American and works for an American company. They've decided they want her to move to the states for July. We're getting married in October. I work for an Irish company.

What's are the options here? Assuming her company will be paying all moving expenses, broken contracts etc

I think there's a visa that you can get if you're planning on getting married ASAP? What are the processing times if we're married? Can I visit the states while a visa is being processed? (Wedding is in the states).

Her boss (who probably knows nothing about immigration) thinks they can sponsor me. I'm a business analyst, so pretty generic and I doubt it would get through - do they have to demonstrate that no American could do that job?

My initial suggestion was to fly over and do a quick courthouse marriage, come back and start the application but that's out if I can't go there during processing.

She's not against getting another job but has an awful lot of stock in them and a really good salary and doesn't want to lose that (and there would be visa issues I think)

·
Registered
6,370 Posts
Why do you not start at the source - uscis.gov or travel.state.gov and read up in family based immigration. It will give you an idea about what is involved. Spouse or fiancé seem to run around 12 months currently. No, there are no loopholes.

·
Registered
7,204 Posts
Presuming your wedding is all set up and you don't want to amend it, your finance would leave in July for the US; you visit her between July and October, you marry in October, you return to Ireland and she then sponsors you for a spouse visa.