Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok - Here goes.... I'm going to try to post all of the questions I can think of here, but I'm sure I'll forget some and have to come back with more... normalement :)

My husband, daughter and I are looking into a move to southern France. I am fluent in French (I'm a French/English teacher), daughter is learning French and husband can ask "Où est le poulet?", which is about all the remembers from high school French.

I apologize if some of these questions seem a little silly. I'm starting out knowing nothing, and hoping you guys can start my education!

I understand that I cannot teach in the public school system, because I don't have a EU passport, which is fine. Are other jobs in the teaching sector readily available? For example teaching English or something along those lines?

I assume that you need to have a carte de séjour in order to work?

How difficult would it be for my non-French speaking husband to find employment? He is an insurance broker here in Canada, but obviously his certifications are useless in France. Do you think it's possible for him to find work without being able to speak the language?

How difficult is it to get visas to stay in the country? I think we'd like to try it out for a year, and then decide if we want to stay or not.

What is the cost of living like?

Well, that's enough for now I guess. I don't want to bombard you all with too many questions all at once! Thanks in advance for your advice!

·
Administrator
51,321 Posts
OK, I'm not Canadian, but I think I can help answer some of your questions.

I understand that I cannot teach in the public school system, because I don't have a EU passport, which is fine. Are other jobs in the teaching sector readily available? For example teaching English or something along those lines?