Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Excuse me guys,

I am a Software Engineer and got some questions about the new ACS Graduate Skill Assessment for Permanent Residency. :confused:

I got the ACS skill assessment already and submitted my EOI for 189.

Would I need to re-apply for the new Graduate Skill Assessment and update my EOI?

If so, do I need to do it now? Or wait until January 15, 2014 when the new skill assessment is commenced?

Would that affect the visa date of effect of my EOI?

Thank you so much! :hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:

·
Registered
3,763 Posts
HI door999mo,

when did you graduate? According to the ACS News section:

The ACS is choosing to implement the changes effective from January 15, 2014, (instead of October 28, 2013) which will provide certainty to those studying courses that are scheduled for completion in the final months of 2013.

The implementation of the ACS graduate application changes will ensure applicants are being assessed in line with the Migration Amendment (Skills Assessment) Regulation 2013 changes announced by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection to take effect on Oct 28, 2013.
This means that the assessing authorities now have to clarify whether the assessment is valid for a specific migration visa subclass (485 Recent Graduate) or "or not be restricted by reference to a specific visa subclass or stream (an 'open' assessment)."

As I see it - feel free to correct me - this means that you are good to go with your "old" assessment. You can write to ACS and ask them to clarify if your assessment is valid for a 189 application and add that letter to the visa submission, if you want. It's one of these transitional things: DIBP wants the assessing authorities to print the suitability on the result letters now but ACS will only start doing so in the new year.