Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

My husband and I (both US citizens) are planning/hoping to move to Germany in the next few years. He is self employed and conducts most of his work online. His biggest client is actually based in the US, but it would be mutually beneficial for both him and this client if he were to relocate to Germany to be closer to some of their larger customers. His salary will be roughly 60,000 euros give or take. This will be our only income because I am a teacher here in the US, so my qualifications will mean little to nothing in Germany.

My questions are:

1. Would he qualify for an employment visa as self employed even though he technically is not required to physically be in Germany to conduct his work?

2. Will the authorities see his salary as sufficient means to support ourselves?

3. Will I be able to move with him by applying for a family reunion visa? Do I need to wait until his employment visa is granted before I apply?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. I have heard that it can be difficult to be granted a visa through our local consulate, so I want to make sure I have a solid understanding before we begin the application process.

Thank you so much for your help.

·
Registered
2,904 Posts
I think your odds are quite good. Being US citizens, you don't need to go to the consulate to apply for visas beforehand, you can just show up in Germany, register your address, then within 90 days of arrival get yourself off to the Ausländerbehörde (foreigners' office) to request a residence permit. You would apply for the permit together, no need for a separate family reunion thing.

Various thoughts: