Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I have been looking through the threads but can't find answers to all of my questions, I will give you some background information with actual questions in bold.

So, I am a British student looking at a program to teach English in China for a year after studies. I do not yet know where I will be located, I know that a lot of things will vary depending on location but all I know is that I will not be eligible for the Beijing or Shanghai posts as I do not have enough teaching experience.

I have a daughter who will be 4/5 at the time and I am hoping to get her into Chinese kindergarten (for cultural benefits as well as finances) but my research puts me at a dead end with regards of expected costs and enrolment (I will only be in China a couple of weeks before starting as a teacher but I may have help from the program in placing her) and I was also wondering if the children are expected/encouraged to use chopsticks and the squatting toilets as I think my daughter may find that the hardest to adapt to. She also has a nut allergy and I'm wondering what problems that might lead to...

I was wondering how much roughly living will be as after kindergarten I'm not expecting to have loads of money left (through the program we get £100 a week with free accommodation and utilities)

I'm a tall woman (5'9) of [British] average build (UK 16) and slightly large feet (UK8) so I'm not expecting to have a lot of clothing available to me so I was wondering what type clothes I should bring with me to last a year? I know weather goes from very hot to very cold but are there any specific pieces that I should bring that I won't be able to buy while there?

Anything else I should know about living in China that I have most likely overlooked? I have done quite a bit of research but I'm sure I've overlooked a lot of things.