Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My company is thinking about moving me to France, I have a very specific set of skill for the work that we do, a certification from my company but although I attended college I did not graduate, I have been doing what I do in IT for more than 15 years, will that be an issue when they try to obtain my work visa?

Thanks in advance

·
Administrator
50,474 Posts
The French immigration system isn't nearly as stuck on university degrees as they are in the US. What your company will have to do is to justify transferring you over hiring someone already available in France and/or the EU.

They are allowed to reference your prior experience with the company - which gives you an "in" over someone they would have to hire off the street, since you are already familiar with your employer's environment, business and policies.

Other than that, it's a matter of how well your company's French office can handle the bureaucrats.
Cheers,
Bev

G

·
Just an added point on this, there are certain types of work - regulated professions - where a qualification is required in France, but equivalence of studies and qualifications from abroad is not necessarily recognised,or additional requirements are imposed. This even applies to nationals from other EU states. It is irrelevantwhether you are working for a French company, or for a subsidiary/branch of an international company.

Here is a summary of EU law on this:

The situation with regard to recognition differs depending on whether practice of the profession concerned is regulated in the host State, that is, if practice is conditional upon possession of one or more vocational training qualifications delivered in that State, or whether practice of that profession is not subject to any specific national regulation.