Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am a prospective student at the University of Melbourne - Electrical Engineering. I am eligible to apply for PR under SubClass 189 as I meet exact 60 Points (Age 23 , Education :Electrical Engineering Bachelors Degree recognised by Engineers Australia,PTE Academic 79 +) but my query is do I wait for the PR application to go through or apply for a Student Visa ASAP as my Classes are scheduled to start in February 2018.
So far I am waiting for my Engineers Australia Accreditation , once I get that i Should be able to Lodge an EOI using Skill select but am not sure of the Time Line . Any chance I could get PR before Year end ?
It makes a significant difference as My fees also reduces significantly

Please advise
With Thanks
Noel

·
Registered
5,859 Posts
Invitations to 60 pointers hasn't started yet, but is expected to happen soon (either next EOI round or the one after that). Are you sure you will get an invitation soon enough considering the existing backlog? As for the visa grant, nobody can guarantee you that by Feb 2018.

Also, I haven't read much on the proposed uni fee reform for permanent residents starting Jan 2018, but you may want to read into it and be absolutely sure that having a PR instead of a student visa would benefit you:

Higher education reform

Permanent residents, New Zealanders targeted in university budget revamp

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Keeda ,
Thanks for the answer, do you think applying for a student visa would get in the way of My PR application or anything like that? I am thinking I will apply for student visa asap and work on the PR parallel to it so that if I am blessed , I might be able to get the PR before commencement of University

Kindly advise

·
Registered
5,859 Posts
Hi Noel,