Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi There,

New to the Forum, I was wondering if anyone can help me, or has experience in Employer Sponsorship. I am a Quantity Surveyor from Scotland with over 6 years experience & would like to move to Brisbane or Sunshine Coast with my wife & 3 year old daughter & was wondering what the best way to go was. Should I get SS visa first then go over & try to gain employment or are there plenty of employers in this region offering sponsorship?

If anyone who has got sponsored by an employer or anyone has gainied there Visa & moved out & got a job could offer advice it would be greatly appreciated. I would just like to know what the best option may be, i.e if there is suffcient work out there for a construction/civil engineering Quantity Surveyor to gain employent once out there & what the time frames are for each option.

·
Registered
4,518 Posts
Hi there

Most of the major UK consultancies who have a branch/office in Australia offer sponsorship for the right candidate. I actually moved out on employer sponsorship, though based on my experience, I would not necessarily encourage anyone to go down that route if they qualify for their own visa.

A lot of employers also post jobs on Linked In or Seek.com.au and that would be a good place to start. Quantity Surveyor is not a commonly used term here, so you should also search for jobs as an Estimator, Contract Administrator, Cost Planner or Cost Manager.

To be honest, the construction industry is not really that strong right now. There is work about and quantity surveyors are always in demand since Australia does not really produce enough of their own but the majority of work tends to be on heavy civils projects as well as in mining and oil and gas. If you are prepared to work FIFO, that would also increase the number of jobs open to you and would also increase your pay packet by 20-35% depending on the employer.