Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings community, thank you for having us.
My wife and i are Scottish but live in Vancouver ( both mid 40's and reasonably well paid careers)
We are keen to buy somewhere in Cabo to Airbnb , with a possible view to retiring there. We both love life on the West coast here in Vancouver but screw paying 1mill plus for 750 square feet!
Does anyone have firsthand experience of this, any pitfalls or pros and cons. I mean the last thing we want is to buy and not be able to rent it out. Is Cabo pretty much busy all year round? We could afford to put down $85k CAD as a deposit.
Thanks for the replies in advance, im a total newbie. Hope you are all having a lovely weekend
Tim.

·
Registered
6,713 Posts
Look into the restrictions based upon your type of visa, and the bank turst that will actually own your property. It may require that you form a corporation. Personally, I would not attempt what you suggest.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Look into the restrictions based upon your type of visa, and the bank turst that will actually own your property. It may require that you form a corporation. Personally, I would not attempt what you suggest.
Thanks for the reply friend, just curious as to why you personally wouldn't attempt this. We are aware of the corporation/trust bureaucracy involved. Thanks again, Tim.

·
Registered
275 Posts