Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The proof of genuine relationship seems at odds with the visitor visa limitations - according to the instructions for the application processors, they specifically list to look out for things like not living with each other, not sharing bills, not having wedding arrangements. However, all that is dependant on getting the fiance visa! (I've been reading the posts and see that people are making wedding plans ahead of time and then have proof, but I had also read in other places not to make plans because you never know how long the visa application will take.

I've been visiting my girlfriend for 3 years - mostly 1-week trips every 4 months, but this year I spent 4 1/2 months there in 2 long trips (both approved by immigration at the border, and I left on time or earlier). However, we couldn't get any joint bank accounts, credit cards, etc. because you have to be a UK resident to do those things. I have a lot of receipts (Nando's etc) that I kept as weird mementos, so I can prove I was there, but they don't necessarily prove I was with her. (I have old Skype call start/end times, but the newer versions of Mac OS Skype don't have an export feature; I have Yahoo! IM chat times (I don't need to actually send the full data including the texts, right? Just the dates, times & user IDs?)

We haven't made any wedding plans yet because we didn't want to have things fall apart and miss the date, but I guess I need to do as much of that as I can in my upcoming Christmas/New Year trip? And if we can't plan something 6 months away, I'll have to stay alone in US until it's under 6 months away?

·
Registered
1,290 Posts
Proof of a genuine relationship when it comes to applying for a fiance visa means showing things such as trips to visit each other, photos together, proof of ongoing communication, etc.