Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I worked as a manager in a company for 2 years and after 2 years I have joined another company, also as a manager. In previous company I used to deal & interact with company's clients. My new job is similar to previous job and here too I have to deal with clients.

Somehow, my previous employer found out that I joined another company and is extremely angry and wants to sue me! I should mention that I never used to get my salary paid on time, in my previous company. Even now, I have quite a few months' of salary pending for which my previous employer has given a post dated check. So non-payment payment & late payment of salary was a huge issue for everyone in the company! I still put up with that for 2 years but I couldn't take it anymore and joined another company.

But now the threat of non compete agreement is over my head and I am very scared. I have signed the labor contract which does have the non compete clause. I would like to know what are my chances, how enforceable is the non compete clause and what should be my next steps? Do the employers drag previous employees to court for this? Do they win or lose? Any help is much appreciated! Late payment of salary was a huge issue for everyone in that company and I still haven't been fully paid, and stuck with a post dated check.

·
Super Moderator
Originally from UK but lived in many countries
6,963 Posts
Hi,
Non-compete clauses can and are enforced by the courts, in the UAE.
If you are working in the same industry, same Emirate and with the same clients as your previous employer - and you signed a non-compete clause with your previous employer - then you are at risk.
The non or late payment of salary is a totally separate issue and is not relevant to a non-compete clause.