Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!
I am a fresh Chemical Engineer graduate (B.Tech) with no work experience and want to apply for PR under SkillSelect. I have 60 points for subclass 189 and 65 points for subclass 489 (5 points for family sponsorship). Age-21, IELTS-8 band.
I want to know if this would be sufficient to obtain a positive skill assessment from Engineers Australia or would the lack of work experience be a problem?

·
Registered
192 Posts
Yes Engineers Australia is the only body which accepts engineers without experience. All you need to do is prepare your CDR with 3 projects that you have done during your bachelor's. Thing is you might only get assessed as engineering technologist without experience as opposed to getting one as a chemical engineer. If the career episode for CDR are good enough they might assess you as chemical engineer. Good luck.

Do not count the points until you have been assessed. You get 15 points only after EA assessed your qualification. And you need to have IELTS each section above 8, not just overall score to get 20 points. You should try to get 20 points using PTE instead of IELTS if you need to since PTE is computer evaluated and unbiased.

Reactions: akshatjain2

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes Engineers Australia is the only body which accepts engineers without experience. All you need to do is prepare your CDR with 3 projects that you have done during your bachelor's. Thing is you might only get assessed as engineering technologist without experience as opposed to getting one as a chemical engineer. If the career episode for CDR are good enough they might assess you as chemical engineer. Good luck.