Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I have a few queries regarding the Points Test, I would be grateful if you can assist me regarding this.

I currently have 55 points in the Points Test i.e

Age- 30 points
Qualification- 15 points
English Language ability IELTS- 10 points

Case 1:

My occupation is listed in the skilled occupation list of most of the states in Australia, with high priority in few of the states. If I lodge an Expression of Interest for Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190), I will be given 5 points for the state sponsorship, which takes my total points to 60. Hence, I will be eligible to apply for this VISA.

With the current processing time for this visa being 6 months, can I expect to be invited to apply provided I meet all the requirements? If so, can I expect to be issued with this visa earlier than 6 months or do I need to wait longer than 6 months?

Case 2:

I have completed my Master’s degree in a mining related engineering field from a Recognised Australian University. However, this course was an 18 month (78 weeks) program located in a regional area. Since I do not meet the Australian Study Requirement (two year study), I cannot claim 5 points for either Australian study or 5 points for Regional study.

Having said that, will I be eligible to claim 5 points for Australian study, if I undertake a 6 month (26 week) Cricos registered course (Cert IV) in Project Management or Occupation health safety. Will I meet the Australian Study requirement? Furthermore, will I be eligible to claim 5 points for regional study, if I complete this study in a regional place?

Assuming that I get the above mentioned points, my total points tally would be 70, I will be eligible for Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) and Skilled Independent (subclass 189) visa. What are your views on this? Do you think I would be in better position than Case 1?