Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
526 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm writing to seek your advice after having a sudden doubt whether I'm doing the sensible thing here.

I'm eligible for both 189 and 190 visas. On 189 my occupation is Industrial Engineer and on 190 my occupation is Production Manager (Manufacturing) which is only available in South Australia without job offer.

I decided to go for 190 visa because the prod mgr occupation is in my opinion a more stable occupation and also my current occupation for the past 4 years. Before that I was in industrial engineer occupation where I've been laid off or been at the risk of getting laid off at least twice. So I prefer prod mgr occ overall.

But here's where my doubt comes in. After you get PR do you have to stick to your exact occupation? Or are you allowed to work in any occupation? Does the govt or immigration authority control this and monitor this? Because if they don't and one can work in any occupation then... I'm wondering if it makes more sense for me to go for 189 visa because it opens me up to jobs anywhere in Aus! Does it matter if I get PR on 189 visa thru industrial engineer occupation but actually working as prod mgr?

The other thing is both my bachelors and masters qualifications are in industrial engineering. Then, is it better if I stick to industrial engineer occupation on 189 visa?

The thing is at the moment I've got all my docs ready and I'm about to apply to vetassess for prod mgr occupation for 190 visa. Do you guys think I should rather be applying to Engineers Australia for Industrial engineer occupation in 189 visa??

Please help. I'm a bit confused. :(

Reactions: csk.sakthi

·
Registered
780 Posts
For you 189 is better.

Once you get the Visa, you can work in any stream and occupation , and if it is 189, you can work across Australia.