Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am about to become the most annoying request for help post ever but I am going to have to deal with that. Basically the situation is that My wife and I have decided we would like to relocate and move to France. We are mainly considering the west / south regions and well I am a little light on knowing what to do!!
So I will list some points that I could use some direction on. Thanks.
1) I own my house but will look to rent this out, are rentals easy to come by and what sort of costs could i expect for a 3 bed. (forgot to mention two kids and a labrador!)
2) Work! I am soon to be registered with TEFL but I am also a semi skilled engineer, tail lifts and refrigeration to be exact. Am i employable? My wife has been a registered child carer provider for 17 years, has nvq3 in child care and education. employable?
3) Schools. Is it fairly straight forward to register a 4 year old and a 12 year old?
4) Language: It's been a while but with some refreshing I can hold my own, my wife will need a basic course for beginners beginners, is that sufficient to begin?
5) Are there any legal docs other than passport required to make this move?

I appreciate your time even reading this as well, you are thinking I should already know all this!!

Thanks

JJ

·
Banned
6,806 Posts
Hiya
Location, location, location lol
Where's yr house in the UK ?
Where d'you want to be in France ?
TEFL is good; make contact with the Rectorat and the Inspection Academique for the area u intend to be in - get your cv on record
Child care - not sure - might have to contact someone (ANPE/CAF/Assistant Social) to see what to do about translation/equivalence of qualification
School reg: - contact target schools - Ecole Primaire for the youngster, College for the elder & they'll tell you how to go about geting enrolled