Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people this my first post here. This has probably been asked many times before but is there any work for builders in Spain as I'm a qualified builder with 8 years experience and have my own tools. Also what work would be available for my partner who only has business and admin qualification. We will also be taking our dog with us. Is it best to rent or buy(with mortgage) and which areas are best for work. We have started learning the spannish language and will continue too. Any advice would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
33,612 Posts
Now isn't a good time! Spain is in crisis and the construction industry has crashed, wait a few years

Jo xxx

·
Registered
558 Posts
Unemployment is running at 25% in Spain at the moment and 35% on the Costas. You have little chance of work an your partner has less. Sorry for being so blunt, but I have seen the tears of defeat and some sorrowful retreats. If you have work in the UK cherish it, nurture it, love it and come to Spain as often as possible on holidays.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have work here in north east of Scotland. Iv worked with same person since I left school so would always have my job back here if it didn't work out. And the construction industry has been in bad way here before in last 3 years and has never affected me. I see it that there is always work if you are willing to find it. Thanks for you advice

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Seeing as unemployment is so high in Spain would it be worth buying a property at this current time and moving over when there is more work as property values seem to be very low just now and don't think they will keep dropping forever. Iv seen properties for as little as £30000 would be lucky to get a double garage for that up here

·
Registered
33,612 Posts