Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys, I am new to this thread.. Have a query, which I think someone from here would be able to answer..
New Zealand is always a dream country for me and would love to settle here if ever I get an opportunity. I have a positive skills assessment from one of the Australian skill assessment agencies and also have superior english language ability(as per one of the recognised tests). Would I be able to apply for New Zealand immigration with these credentials or do I have to start the process fresh for NZ.. My understanding is that NZ follows more or less the same procedure for immigration as Aus.. so maybe I can just submit an EOI for NZ.. Not sure If I am making sense here.. please answer

·
Super Moderator
4,931 Posts
Although there may be similarities, since NZ is a different country with a different Immigration agency and different processes you would have to start all over again.

The only thing you need to worry about before EOI submission is your qualifications. They either need to be exempt from assessment and as such recognised in NZ or they need to have been assessed by NZQA to determine if they meet the equivalent level as a qualification gained in NZ.
No previous assessment from Oz will suffice.
Also, skills aren't assessed in NZ prior to the formal application submission. A person makes a claim on the EOI and if they subsequently get through to the ITA stage it is at this time they need to provide the evidence that supports the EOI claim. It is at this time Immigration will determine whether your evidence proves that you have the work experience claimed in the EOI.
You will also have to provide evidence that you meet the basic English language requirement as a principal applicant - minimum 6.5 overall in IELTS.

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·