Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hiii
I am getting addmission as research scholar in WITS University, Johannesburg and I am reaching joburg upto last week of Jan
Can anybody please help me in

How to get accomodation near uni., which areas are safer and economical there as security issues are alarming.

What is common and safe mode of transport there as i am not having my personal vehicle.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi Pradeep. Good to hear that you will be visiting SA

WITS gives you the edge!:) No really I studied there and it was excellent. I can provide some recommendations but in the end of the day it all on your choice of convenience and luxury.

Try in Johannesburg
Braamfontein (Nearest to WITS however may be dangerous during the evening)
Fordsburg/Mayfair(Less than 2km from Wits..Goods Indian food and community.. Lots of indian expats)
Parktown (Also very close to the campus)
On Campus (WITS has an international student residence on campus...Also a mall on campus with 7eleven and other food outlets)
Killarney (Around 1-2km...Well built up and convenient..Buses always going to Wits and near the rosebank Sandton distict)

Good luck and when you do come to SA please use our free calling service to India form you mobile or landline. We are a NPO and all profits go to charity thecarerproject
Cioa

·
Registered
3 Posts

WITS gives you the edge!:) No really I studied there and it was excellent. I can provide some recommendations but in the end of the day it all on your choice of convenience and luxury.

Try in Johannesburg
Fordsburg/Mayfair(Less than 2km from Wits..Goods Indian food and community.. Lots of indian expats)
On Campus (WITS has an international student residence on campus...Also a mall on campus with 7eleven and other food outlets)
Killarney (Around 1-2km...Well built up and convenient..Buses always going to Wits and near the rosebank Sandton distict)