Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there.
Hopefully this year I'll be heading out to Dubai to teach English. As well as my day job I am a keen semi-professional photographer.
Is it okay to set up a camera and tripod in Dubai city centre and start snapping?
Photography is getting a tough time here in Europe from over zealous security staff.What's it like out there?

·
Registered
5,195 Posts
Hi there.
Hopefully this year I'll be heading out to Dubai to teach English. As well as my day job I am a keen semi-professional photographer.
Is it okay to set up a camera and tripod in Dubai city centre and start snapping?
Photography is getting a tough time here in Europe from over zealous security staff.What's it like out there?
Do not take pictures of locals, that could get you in trouble.

·
Registered
8,891 Posts
No government buildings. No women as you don't know who is local or not. Equipment here is expensive so if you are wanting new camera or lense, get it before coming.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi there.
Well you will also run into over zealous security people over here specially if you are carrying a tripod or sometimes even SLR. :p It is quite annoying because they will allow you to photograph with a digicam or smartphone but seeing an actual camera freaks them out. (Dubai Mall, DIFC are some examples)....

Anyway you can still try your luck at random places and can get away with some beautiful shots.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Street photography is difficult because of the cultural sensitivities here. If that's something you're interested in, I would suggest you get a camera like the Fujifilm X100, that looks harmless and unobtrusive, but can take excellent pictures.