Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings. I am an American photographer wishing to shoot and live in Italy (even if only part time at first) and sell my work there. I am reading horror stories about the beauracracy and paperwork. Here is my question: if I am freelancing and simply selling my work through existing galleries or shops, is it that more easily done than establishing a business there? Could I do that as an American sole proprietor? Option two may be for me to open my own gallery. Tougher option? Finally - I am part of a non profit also - would moving and living in Italy under the auspices of my non profit work make moving easier (the non profit is one that would serve the interests of the area to which I would like to move.).

Does anyone have a suggestion about the most practical path to take? Our goal is to move, pursue our art, live and make a positive contribution in Italy. Thank you.
Walker

·
Registered
24 Posts
I am an artist with a love of photography living n Italy. I have literally thousands of photos I have taken here. If you find a way to make money on them let me know. I have dual citizenship and live here in Abruzzo. /SNIP/ Get in touch with he American embassy here in Rome for legal issues, the italian consulates in the US will not be as helpful. Sorry I am clueless.
Stay in touch, I am at the 3 the national parks up in the mountains the amazing photo opportunities are endless. i have the photos to prove it. If I can help in any way I am happy to. Christine

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Living in Italy

Thank you Christine! Let's stay in touch, and of course I would love to share ideas. I was in Assisi in May and was overwhelmed by the beauty of the mountains - Mt. Subasio was incredible! I don't normally shoot many landscapes, but it was impossible not to.

I will follow your suggestions, and will stay in touch. Thanks! Walker

·