Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I am PhD student living in Melbourne along with my wife (she is a nurse with her registration pending). I am going to complete my PhD in a couple of months. I am looking for some advice related to VIC state 190 visa. I would like to be the main applicant. I am a Chemistry PhD student, but did my bachelors and Masters in Pharmaceutical sciences. Is there any chance I can apply for 190 visa after my PhD? If so, which skill assessment am I supposed to take? I would really appreciate if there are any suggestions.

Thanks.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Are you a PhD student at one of universities in Melbourne? If it's the case, you can nominate any occupation in IMMI 18/051 Instrument for visa 190. For more information, please refer to https://liveinmelbourne.vic.gov.au/...reamlined-pathway-for-international-graduates

You may go for chemical, pharmacy-related, or science occupation which is assessed by VETASSESS. Last question, are you a self-funding or scholarship PhD student?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Are you a PhD student at one of universities in Melbourne? If it's the case, you can nominate any occupation in IMMI 18/051 Instrument for visa...

You may go for chemical, pharmacy-related, or science occupation which is assessed by VETASSESS. Last question, are you a self-funding or scholarship PhD student?
Thank you for your reply. Yes, I am a PhD student from a public university from Melbourne and fully funded by Govt of Australia. Are you saying I can get assessed as an Industrial pharmacist and still get state sponsorship? I do not have any work experience other than some paid part time teaching and research assistantship (paid too). Thanks again for suggesting me.

·
Registered
139 Posts