Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I got my skill assessment as an engineering technologist, last year based on my overseas undergraduate degree. Recently, I got my PhD from an Australian institute. Do I have to redo the skill assessment to claim the points for my PhD ?
Because in my skill assessment letter, Bachelor Degree is mentioned in Highest Relevant Qualification field.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Hi all,

I got my skill assessment as an engineering technologist, last year based on my overseas undergraduate degree. Recently, I got my PhD from an Australian institute. Do I have to redo the skill assessment to claim the points for my PhD ?

Because in my skill assessment letter, Bachelor Degree is mentioned in Highest Relevant Qualification field.

I would strongly suggest you to do it. First, PhD will give you extra 5 points. Second, you have done it from Australia, it will give you extra 5 points since you have the Australian degree of more than two years duration. Third, if you PhD is in Science, Engineering, Technology or in ICT, is you would get another 5 points. So you can get 10-15 points from your PhD.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
23,906 Posts
Hi all,
In my opinion, you would need to get yourself reassessed to claim the 5 points for PHD

Your degree is undoubtedly as per AQF standard as it is Australian , but it also has to be closely related to your education and experience to be eligible for points

Hence the need for reassessment

Cheers

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for your replies guys, much appreciated.

I logged on to EA (Engineering Australia) portal, and there is no further actions to submit my PhD confirmation letter. I can do actions different actions such as assess overseas PhD, relevant skilled employment assessment, or both.