Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am currently a student at a community college and will transfer to a four year university in a year. I will be studying petroleum engineering when I transfer. I was wondering if it will be possible for me to get a job in Mexico, as a petroleum engineer? I am fluent in Spanish, since my parents are actually from Mexico, and my dream is to one day live there, since I have never lived there. I have gone for vacation and I really fell in love with everything about it. Also is there any degree that would make it easier to obtain a job in Mexico? I know maybe this post is way to early, since I still need to actually graduate and earn my degree, but any of your comments would really help. Thanks :)

·
Registered
2,023 Posts
Mexico is opening up parts of it's oil industry to outside companies for bids. Watch the bidding and apply with whatever company gets the business. I doubt seriously you'd get anywhere applying to Pemex .... the State owned (once) monopoly. Mexico's production levels are going down and they need higher tech to extract it.

·
Registered
1,837 Posts
There have always been a few foreign companies contracted to Pemex. It would be easier to get a job with them rather than directly with Pemex, but it would be worth a shot to apply with Pemex. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Reactions: Longford

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So do you guys think I should stick to petroleum engineering, or would I have an easier time getting a job in Mexico with a different career choice?

·
Registered
2,023 Posts