Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi friends,
I am new in Europe and i am basically an Asian citizen. If i understand correctly, there will be a percentage of the gross salary which will be deducted as social contribution, pension, health etc in france. I will be working in france only for a duration of 1- 2 years(i have a CDI working agreement ). So will i get any benefits or opt out of any of the things which is irrelevant for me. I think close to 22% will be deducted from my salary for all the above contributions.

After two years of work i will be going back to my own country, so is there a way to reduce this 22% deduction as i wont be getting any benefits...

·
Administrator
51,337 Posts
But it is possible you'll wind up getting something for your contributions.

While you're in France, you'll be covered by the sécu (national health insurance) which is definitely worth something. And, while I don't know what the minimum is for time served, you may well find that you're entitled to a stipend pension when the time comes. A friend of mine worked in Switzerland for 3 years, and now she gets 50 CHF a year in pension payment. It ain't much, but it's something.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you for the reply. Health insurance is definitely a good benefit. In wiki i saw that minimum number of years of contribution to the retirement fund in order to receive a full pension is 40 years. And 10% decrease per missing contribution year.!! I didn't understand that.
Also since i have CDI contract, can my company force me to go back from France? I have read that French labour laws are very strong.

·
Administrator
51,337 Posts