Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Can anyone advise if it's worth to pay a visit to NZ and look for a job to speed up my SMC processing , I'm an IT Professional with long experience , I work as Project Manager with heavy technical skills and also ITIL. I have contacted some recruitment companies and they comment that my skills are required in NZ but they can't help me if I don't have a working rights in NZ , is being in NZ help as I will be available for interviews or it's not worth the effort and cost and better wait till my SMC outcome is released? As per INZ they will assign a CO to my case in the period from July to September 2015 -London office , so any suggestions?

one more question, what caused an application to be declined if we exclude health and character issues?

·
Super Moderator
4,918 Posts
Yes it is worth it to pay NZ a visit. To be here in person approaching employers and being available for meetings, discussions and even interviews with them BUT, how what visa do you intend to get that will allow you to do that ?
A visitor visa I'd assume...be careful as looking for work isn't the intended actions of a visitor or tourist. You wouldn't be a genuine visitor!
You will have way more chance getting a job if you are here even though you may not yet have a visa that will allow you to work in NZ. Once an employer understands that you need a job offer to make the visa process quicker they may be more forthcoming and with a job offer you always have the option of applying for an Essential Skills Work Visa in the meantime to allow you to come and work in NZ quickly. The resident visa can just tick away in the background.