Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I’ve been reading as much as I can find on here about applying for the Passeport Talent visa. I'll start with our specific circumstances. I’ll try to be as concise as possible.

My wife and I are buying a house in SW France. Our intent is to live there year round. I am a freelance musician and she is an arts administration employee / freelancer (depending on how this all shakes out) for a music ensemble in Chicago. We have enough contract work at various points over the next year (outside of France) to support ourselves and pay our mortgage (which has already been secured with a french bank). The ideal plan is for my wife to be able to work remotely for the Chicago company in France, both continuing to do her normal duties while also adding the in-France-specific work of seeking out development opportunities for the ensemble in France and in other countries in the EU. It is our understanding that this situation is only legit if we are granted a passeport talent visa, which would also enable me to seek out work in France in addition to outside its borders.

We have an appt at the Chicago consul next week. We are trying to decide whether to go for the passeport talent or play it safe and go for a long stay visitor visa and try to build a more substantial case for the p-t when we’re over there. The advantage is that with the p-t up front we’d be we’d have a more manageable financial situation and we’d be a few steps closer to our eventual goal of permanent residency. The disadvantage is that we’re worried our pitch might be a longshot and getting declined could keep us here in the states another month or longer.

I have two main concerns that I’m hoping those with experience can weigh in on: