Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm 19 years old and I came in uk last February 2008 ( living in the country for 4 years now). I came here as a dependent child of my father who has working visa. We applied for ILR last August 2012 and I know that I have to applied separately as I am already 18 at that time. I have done U.K Life test and Biometrics. However, the problem is my family have already got their ILR status last January but I haven't got anything yet. I am a full time student and just need the ILR status to apply to universities this year. What are your thoughts about my case?

·
Registered
39,037 Posts
I'm pretty certain you could have applied with your family last August. Even though you were already 18 at that time, you first came when you were a minor and you are still dependent on your family and you haven't formed an independent life of your own (say, by marrying). I'm sure you can still apply on SET(O).

"Where a child who was given leave to enter or remain with a view to settlement under Paragraph 302 and Paragraph 319XA applies for settlement (or further leave to remain with a view to settlement) on the basis of his parents' or sponsors application/status, the fact that he has reached the age of 18 since being granted limited leave with a view to settlement is not a basis for refusing the application."
http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/s...Is/idischapter8/section5a/annex-m?view=Binary Page 5

"To qualify under the Rules, at the time of application and decision, a child must:
* be unmarried, and not at any previous time have been married;
* not currently be in or have previously formed a relationship with another person (such as a common-law or homosexual relationship) which could be said to be the equivalent of being married, except for name and legal recognition;