Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
One company is offering me an IT job in Berlin. I have 7+ years of experience.

I have a family consisting of a wife and 1 kid. The offer is 50,000 Euro. So my questions are:
1) Is that enough for a good life? Will I be able to save some money after tax? Notes: I don't eat outside, and I need a 2-bedroom apartment.
2) If you have 2 offers, one in Berlin and one in a small town (population 30,000). Which to take?

Thanks

·
Registered
2,899 Posts
That's a reasonable enough income. Plug it into the tax calculator to figure out what's left, then knock off 1000/month for a modest apartment (you can do cheaper, but might not want to).

As for Berlin vs. a small town, that's a question of your preferences. Smaller town might be cheaper, but also more isolated, more "German" rather than international, and generally a whole lot less fun. Then again, if you don't eat out, you're probably not hitting the bars and clubs either, so wouldn't miss the big advantage of being in the city. Also, again depending on where you are, you might need a car in a smaller town, whereas you likely won't need one in Berlin.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's a reasonable enough income. Plug it into the tax calculator to figure out what's left, then knock off 1000/month for a modest apartment (you can do cheaper, but might not want to).
I found that my tax may be 35%. So, I will get a monthly net of almost 2,500. Then subtract 1000 for apartment, so 1,500 will remain. For grocery and other usual monthly expenses, I think that I won't be able to save anything. What do you think?

·
Super Moderator
1,860 Posts