Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi; I'm a newbie, and have found only one reference to Oaxaca (City or nearest areas). Have not been there since 1973, and was very taken with it at the time, and was wondering how it would be overall for an expat to move there? Have lived a short time in Cuernavaca, & it's a little too humid in the summer for me.
Like everyone else, I am on a budget (Disability). Thanks for any input.

·
Banned
74 Posts
Although we do not live in Oaxaca we have visited the city nd surrounding areas in our RV many times over the last 12 years. Oaxaca is a JEWEL. One of our favorite colonial cities. There is an active expat community in the city. One of them ( I think his name is Allan Starkman) writes about the city on Mexconnect. Food and rent appear to be reasonable. I cannot speak on other costs. I do know that they have a serious water problem. That in itself would be enough to keep me from living there. Try Mexconnect as there are many others on that forum that live in Oaxaca. There are also some Oaxaca specific forums. GOOGLE!

Moisheh

·
Registered
26 Posts
If you google 'the hell with it I'm out of here" you will find a blog by an US guy who is living there after traveling extensively throughout Mexico in his early retirement

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi; I'm a newbie, and have found only one reference to Oaxaca (City or nearest areas). Have not been there since 1973, and was very taken with it at the time, and was wondering how it would be overall for an expat to move there? Have lived a short time in Cuernavaca, & it's a little too humid in the summer for me.
Like everyone else, I am on a budget (Disability). Thanks for any input.