Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading the forum and people have advised don't go over to Dubai to look for
A job. look online before you go out. I've had enough looking online no luck. You might say I might not get any luck over there either. Which is true. But will risk it

Planning to go in the next couple of months. Not sure for how long I'm planning to stay there for? Will Stay in a cheap hotel like premier inn. Should not cost me much.

Would like some advice regarding the following:

How long should I stay there for?
Who do I approach with regard to looking for a job ie recruitment agency?
Has anybody tried this approch before, any luck?

I have 5 years experience in the finance industry. I also have a Degree.

Would love to here peoples advice good or bad .

Thank you

·
Registered
100 Posts
Ive tried via online... send linkedin messages to recruiters at specific companies.

I decided to message Managers directly on linkedin, and got job offer after 6 months.

I would say forget recruitment agencies, do some research on the company you want to work for, contact their managers directly. Even if you go to Dubai, don't waste time on recruitment agencies.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
3,359 Posts
You can rent a hotel apartment for 3,000/month, a car for 1,800, add fuel and phone charges and that's 6,000 plus food etc. Call it AED10,000/month all in - £1,800.

How long you stay depends on how much you have in savings, don't be shy and network in areas/places where like minded people congregate (DIFC?) - however that won't be cheap.

Don't even think about coming here until September and remember that the big Eid holiday (at least a week off) is end of Sept.

·
Registered
2,810 Posts
Where is this hotel apartment for 3,000 a month?