Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm new to EF as I've been unable to get a clear answer from any my research, so I figured posting here might some answers. The girlfriend (soon to be wife) and I are planning to relocate to Spain as she has a Spanish grandfather that could lead to an eventual Passport. To do this, she must reside in Spain for a year on any visa. We can meet all the requirements, however, the financial piece is puzzling.

We do not have the financial wealth requirement fulfilled today (we have about $30k saved). We intend to have the required amount (additional $8k) in a checking/savings account (or temporarily loaned by a family member) by our appointment in December. It's unclear if this is acceptable. We have seen and been told by various entities the required money must be in our account for 1 year in advance, or 3 months, or that we only need the money on the day we apply at the consulate.

Any ideas or knowledge on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

dave

·
Banned
63 Posts
I think for an €250000 investment in a home or a business that employs Spanish people you can get a Spanish passport. A criminal background check is also necessary.

Otherwise, have a visit to your local consulate, they will tell you.

·
Administrator
37,068 Posts
I think for an €250000 investment in a home or a business that employs Spanish people you can get a Spanish passport. A criminal background check is also necessary.

Otherwise, have a visit to your local consulate, they will tell you.
No that isn't right.

A so-called Golden Visa requires an investment of 500,000 € - & you can't get a Spanish passport any more quickly than any other resident. It gives you residency, not nationality.

A non-lucrative visa is completely different.

·
Administrator
37,068 Posts
Hi everyone,