Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bonjour!s I am a small animal veterinarian with eleven years of experience licensed in California, United States. Before attending veterinary medical school, I owned and managed a motel in Tahoe City, California, for over seven years. I have also worked as a legal secretary for over three years.

I want to move to the Nice or Marseille area as soon as possible. My level of French is beginner. I am learning French with Fluenz French. I study French two or three hours a day almost every day. I know that my French will improve greatly once I move to France and I am around native French speakers all the time.

I have been contacting many people in Nice and Marseille via LinkedIn trying to find a job. I am not a licensed veterinarian in France and the process to become licensed takes a long time. So I am looking for any kind of job. I have applied for two positions at Virbac which is a veterinary pharmaceuticals company in Nice. I have applied for a couple of caretaker positions at estates.

Does anyone have any leads on jobs in the Nice or Marseille areas that they feel I would qualify for? Please let me know as soon as possible. Thank you very much!

·
Administrator
49,392 Posts
To find the sort of job that can get you the necessary visa to move to France, you really need to have a qualification of some sort with experience or training that isn't readily available in the French job market (and actually, in the EU job market, since EU nationals don't need visas to live and work in France).

The process for an employer justifying the hiring of a non-EU foreigner is somewhat expensive and generally a hassle, so you're best bet is going to be to develop a resumé that demonstrates some difference you have that makes it worth going through all that hassle to hire you.
Cheers,
Bev

·
Administrator
49,392 Posts