Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
I am a newbie requiring some advice please.
My parents have owned a property in Spain for over 30 years. They had Spanish wills drawn up in 1993 of which I have copies and title deeds. We are probably looking to sell the property at some stage.
All utilities are being paid from their Spanish bank account - I can access this online and see that my Mum is a signatory but not the holder of the account.

I have been to the Spanish lawyers and handed over all the necessary paperwork - my father was quite organised that way. I have been advised to open another Spanish account in case the current one gets frozen.

Can anybody please give me some advice on my way forward?

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
I think the advice about getting your own account is good. At some point you will receive a property and later some money when you decide to sell. To maintain the property you're going to need an account that's under your control and in your name (to avoid potential issues with using an account in someone else's name).

Later, when you sell the property you will have a large sum. What you shouldn't do is immediately transfer it the the UK. Whether it's in an account in your name, or in your solicitor's account, you won't get the best exchange rate. Have your own account where you can leave the cash while you identify the most cost efficient way of getting it over to the UK, if that's what you aim to do.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for your response. My father wanted to keep this property out of the UK estate - hence the Spanish wills.
Looking into how to open a Spanish bank a/c quickly and see that I require an NIE. Being asked for names of both my parents in order to get this done asap but nervous the authorities will check up and freeze their a/c.
Any advice welcome - thanks in advance.

·
Administrator