Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, this is my first ever post on here so any replies really would be welcome!
We are just starting out seriously thinking of finally making the move to oz. We have talked about it for years & finally going to give it a go!! :)
What i need to know is what is the very first step to make?
Don't know if we should get the ball rolling & start to apply for visa first or wait till we have been to oz in may next year? Am sooo confused don't know what to do first :(
Also is it best to wait till we arrive to get jobs or should we be applying before we come, I work in a bank & hubby is a joiner/carpenter?
We are going to an australia expo in a few weeks, has anyone ever been to one & are they helpful??
Many thanks to anyone who can give us any help with starting out x

·
Registered
6,235 Posts
Hi Tash,

Welcome to the forum.

How do you eat an elephant? No I haven't lost my mind :) One bite at a time and it's the same with moving to Australia.

There are sticky posts at the top of the forum and the 'PLEASE READ....' has links to the visa wizard to see what common visas you and your hubby can get in with.

Have you been to Australia? If not would you be happy moving to a country that you haven't visited?

We went to Australia on the holiday of a lifetime in 2002 and loved it so much we decided that we wanted to live there.

Personally I could never move to a country I hadn't visited but that is me and others on here have moved across without a visit.

We've been to the Expo at Sandown twice and we found it helpful on both occasions but for different things on each occasion.

Actually the very first step is to ask yourself why you want to move to Australia? I think that helps set your expectations and improves your chances of settling in.

Hope that has helped,
Karen

·
Registered
541 Posts
Tash.......
You really like Australia.