Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

I am currently living in London. I have both Irish and American citizenship. I have been offered a job in New York.

The pay would be $40,000 per year with an overtime payment of aprox $10,000 per year.

I am completely new to the US tax system. Can anybody offer some starter advice to help me work out roughly how much tax I will be paying? And when and how this is paid?

Your help is very VERY much appreciated. I'm not sure where to start!

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

xx
:):)

·
Administrator
51,574 Posts
Not to spook you or anything, but if you're talking about a job in New York City, you also have to take into account where you'll be living. Things get kind of complicated if you, for example, work in NYC but live in New Jersey or Connecticut (which lots of folks do). You wind up having to file income taxes for the Federal government, for your state of residence and for NY state (because you work there) and possibly NYC (which has a city income tax - or did have a few years ago when I last looked into it).

That sounds kind of awful, but lots of folks live with the arrangement and seem to do OK. The "treaties" between the states are actually somewhat like those between the different countries as far what which taxes you pay to which jurisdiction and how you credit the tax you pay in one venue off against the other.