Expat Forum For People Moving Overseas And Living Abroad banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I just stumbled onto these forums and thought I would join and say hi. Our family just moved to France from Switzerland but we're originally from The Netherlands. We've lived in several different countries and decided that France was the place we wanted to settle so we immediately bought a house here and moved a few weeks ago.

So far I am loving it. We live in the Rhone Alpes in the Jura mountains in a small village called Echallon (between Bellegarde, Oyonnax and Nantua). My husband works in Geneva so it is a bit of a commute but the house is so lovely it is absolutely worth it.

My husband speaks French well, but my oldest daughter and I started learning the language in Switzerland and we are still struggling a bit (or a lot, depending on the setting). I am pregnant with my 3rd baby and I am a bit nervous about delivering here. Both my other kids were born in The Netherlands i.e. at home but the French seem to have a bit of an issue with that. There are no midwives in the area here that will do home birthing so this will be my first delivery in a hospital and I am quite frankly terrified. However France has a population 66 million people so I keep telling myself that 66 million people have not died from infections in a hospital :)

I don't really have a lot of questions at this point, however I am really eager to find some other expats in the area. As said, I do speak French and I even bravely attended the neighborhood bbq the other night, but I am much more comfortable speaking Dutch or English. I know this is a long shot because this isn't a popular expat region, but Ferney Voltaire and Lyon aren't that far so who knows who may live between there and here.

Thanks for reading,
Saskia

·
Administrator
50,415 Posts
Hi Saskia,